Leadership Team

Leadership Team

The leadership team of Oregon Community Credit Union is comprised of individuals with expansive expertise in the financial industry, all working together to carry out the vision and mission of the organization.


Ron Neumann

President & Chief Executive Officer

Ron is a forward-thinking leader who is committed to bringing value to OCCU’s members and employees. He has been a member of the OCCU Leadership Team since 2010, having had oversight of organizational areas including lending, credit, finance, technology, risk management, security and human resources. His team-centered approach has allowed OCCU to further enhance the member experience through new technologies and security tools, as well as the introduction of new strategic planning and financial management processes.

He adds a background of innovation, collaboration and strategy to the OCCU team with more than 20 years of experience in large domestic and international manufacturing organizations. Prior to joining OCCU, Ron was President of Neumann Management Group, Inc., a consulting firm providing business solutions for clients throughout the Northwest.

Ron’s strong commitment to community involvement includes serving on the United Way of Lane County Board of Directors. He also serves as a member of the Governmental Affairs Committee of the Northwest Credit Union Association and sits on the CU Benefits Alliance Board of Directors.

Ron received his MBA from the University of Chicago Booth School of Business and has a B.S. in Chemical Engineering from the University of Michigan.

“ It’s an honor to work with a team of individuals who are working together in the best interest of our membership and our community. Together we strive to provide exceptional experiences by going above and beyond in every situation. That’s what makes it different here. ”

Russ Bernardo

Chief Lending Officer


“ OCCU is always looking for new and better ways to deliver the products and services our members are looking for. We center our decisions around the member and always ask ourselves if we are meeting their needs and providing value. ”

Deborah Mersino

Chief Marketing & Experience Officer

Deborah is passionate about providing OCCU members with an exceptional member experience. She has been a member of the OCCU Leadership Team since 2014 and currently has oversight of Marketing, Communications, Card Services, Product R&D and Technology.

Her strengths as a leader include fostering collaboration, driving innovation and striving to exceed the goals and objectives of the organization. Championing the OCCU brand and member experience, she serves as a “voice of the member” advocate to ensure the organization stays aligned with its strong member experience philosophy and provides ample opportunities for our members’ financial well-being.

Deborah currently serves as Chair of the Strategic Market Share Task Force for the Northwest Credit Union Association and regularly speaks at national conferences on the subjects of customer experience and marketing to millennials.

Deborah came to OCCU with more than 17 years of marketing communications experience. She holds a B.S. in Journalism from Northwestern University. Prior to joining OCCU, she served as Chief Marketing Officer for an organization dedicated to serving education leaders and influencing public policy regarding the effective use of technology to improve education.

“ People gush about OCCU. That’s why we work relentlessly to improve and design experiences that give members more than they expect and everything they deserve. Banking here is different, and it’s a privilege to be a part of such an innovative and generous community, where member interests always come first. ”

Greg Schumacher

Chief Financial & Administrative Officer

Greg joined OCCU in 2013 and his passion for effective and efficient use of resources is apparent in his leadership of OCCU’s administrative functions including finance; accounting; business intelligence; enterprise governance, risk, and compliance; loss prevention, facilities, and a host of back office support areas.

During his more than 27-year career in financial services, he has held leadership positions in corporate risk management and regulatory compliance. Greg holds a juris doctorate degree from Whittier College School of Law in California, is a licensed attorney and member of the Oregon State Bar, and acts as OCCU’s legal counsel with respect to regulatory compliance.

In addition to his law degree, Greg has a Master of Business Administration degree in Finance from California State University at Long Beach. He also has served as a college-level undergraduate and graduate instructor and course developer in the areas of Business, Law, Accounting and Finance.

“ I appreciate the credit union model very much. Working each day to serve our members first and foremost and support my credit union family in helping them do the same brings me great joy. It’s not just our tagline, it really is different here. ”

Darrell Stark

Chief Retail Officer

Darrell leads retail operations at Oregon Community Credit Union. This includes the branch network, call center operations and virtual branch, which includes Internet and mobile banking and remote delivery channels. He is from Austin, Texas, and has over 30 years experience in financial services, including over 25 years experience in leadership positions such as Branch Management, Regional Operation Management and Retail Sales Management. He worked with University Federal Credit Union in Austin for 19 years, and his skills in the development of teams and sales initiatives have benefited Oregon Community Credit Union since his hiring in 2008. During his tenure with Oregon Community, the organization has received three national sales and service awards (CUNA Lending Council, CUNA Training Council and CUNA Operations/Sales and Service Council). Darrell is involved in working with the Special Olympics program and has a B.A. in Business from Concordia University in Austin.

“ When I reflect on OCCU, I’m reminded of my favorite quote by Teddy Roosevelt – ‘People don’t care how much you know until they know how much you care.’ ”